Dunham Trust Company Building Relationships That Last Generations
Trust Glossary

Community Property State - One of nine states (Arizona, California, Idaho, Louisiana, Nevada, New Mexico, Texas, Washington, and Wisconsin) in which all property acquired during marriage, except by gift or inheritance, by either or both of the spouses is considered to be owned equally by them, and with each having the right to transfer his/her one-half share in that property (the "community") freely at death. Alaska might also be considered as a community property state because spouses there may elect to treat their property as community property.

Back To Glossary

The content in this glossary is general in nature and is intended for informational purposes only. It is not intended to provide specific advice or recommendations for any individual or organization, because the facts and circumstances surrounding each situation differ. Please consult your attorney, tax advisor or other professional advisor for advice on your particular situation.

Website Disclaimer    Anti-Money Laundering Requirements    Privacy Policy Statement

© 2017   Dunham Trust Company   All Rights Reserved